Wat Rai Khing, a civilian monastery built in 1791, is located in Tambon Rai Khing, only 32 kilometers from Bangkok. It was named after the district by Somdej Phra Phuttha Chan (Pook). When the construction was completed, the Buddha image was brought from Wat Sala Poon and enshrined here, later the locals named the image “Luang Pho Wat Rai Khing“.
According to legend, this Buddha image was found floating in the river, so the townspeople took it up and enshrined the image at Wat Sala Poon. The Buddha image features Chiang Saen style, assumed to be built by Lanna Thai and Lan Chang craftsmen.
Prince Vachirayan Varoros granted temple the name “Wat Mongkon Chinda Ram” (with the words “Rai Khing” in parenthesis after the name) but the locals call the temple “Wat Mongkon Chinda Ram Rai Khing“, later it was shortened to “Wat Rai Khing“.
The temple is well known among Thais as devoted Buddhists frequently visit Wat Rai Khing to pay homage to the sacred Buddha image so every Saturdays and Sundays, food and fruits are sold in front of the temple. It is also renowned for a natural fish sanctuary, a habitat of hundreds of thousands of Sawai fish (big catfish-like, freshwater fishes) where visitors can buy loafs of bread to feed them.
For History enthusiasts, there is a museum collecting and exhibits various kinds of artifacts including ancient bowls, mural paintings, and old books, all of which were donated by the townspeople.Opening hours: Daily 9am-5pm.
Wat Rai Khing
Location: 51 Moo 2 Rai Khing, Sam Phran District, Nakhon Pathom 73210 Thailand