Wat Pa Sang Ngam is a temple built around the year of 1837 at Moo 1, Pa Sang District, Amphoe Pa Sang, Lamphun. The temple was left deserted for a long time until the arrival of Khru Ba Nantha who brought the place back to live by his initiation in renovation and constructions of new buildings.
The highlight of the building is the scriptures depository, the two-storied closed building adorned with plasters, tiered roof in Lanna style, and small upper-floor windows with the drawing of angels, giving the exceptional beauty to its appearance.
The assembly hall of the temple keeps Luang Pho Ngam, the main Buddha image in the attitude of subduing Mara, and an antique Lanna pulpit, the hard-to-find small carved wooden structure created many hundred years ago, located on the right of the hall.
Museum of Wat Pa Sang Ngam is also another tourist spot within the temple area. The museum displays antiques and various forms of arts, ranging from Buddha images, Dharma book chests, old household utensils, to fossils.
Another activity that could not be missed here in Wat Pa Sang Ngam is visiting and worshipping the Buddha image of Amphoe Pa Sang enshrined at Pisan Pracha Samakkhi pavilion, Phra Phutthamongkhol Sarakon. This thoroughly gilded shining figure is a creation of artisans from Bangkok and has the angelic artistic balance.
Access: From Amphoe Pa Sang, using National Highway No. 106 towards Amphoe Ban Hong for about 300 metres. The Lamphun-Ta Chak intersection-Ku Ramak-Pa Sang bus is also available. Opening hours: Every day 08.00hrs-16.30hrs.
Wat Pa Sang Ngam
Location: 239 Lamphun-Pa Sang Road, Pa Sang, Pa Sang District, Lamphun 51120 Thailand