Wat Chedi Liam is a Buddhist temple in Wiang Kum Kam, an ancient fortified town built by King Mengrai of the Lanna empire. The town was the capital of the Lanna Kingdom for 10 years until 1296, when Chiang Mai (“new city”) was founded a few kilometers North.
Founded in 1288, the Wat Chedi Liam is an active temple with resident monks. Its name translates to “temple of the square chedi”.
The temple, also known as Wat Ku Kham Luang comprises of an ancient chedi and a more recent viharn and ubosot. The only structure remaining from the 13th century temple is its well preserved Mon Dvaravati style chedi.
The temple is located in Wiang Kum Kam historical park, a few kilometers South of the town of Chiang Mai near the East bank of the Ping river. Check How to get to Wiang Kum Kam on options of how to get there.
Wat Chedi Liam (Wat Ku Kham Luang)
Location: Tha Wang Tan, Saraphi District, Chiang Mai 50140 Thailand