Phra Narai Ratchaniwet was built in 1665 and 1677, when King Narai the Great decided to make Lopburi the second capital of the Ayutthaya Kingdom. Although the buildings were designed by with the contributions of French architects, the Khmer influence was still strong. The Palace was a perfect blend of the both world, an awesome mixture of Khmer-European styles.
The Palace is located in the town center, between Ratchadamnoen Road and Pratu Chai Road. The whole complex has been turned into the Lop Buri National Museum (commonly known as King Narai National Museum).
The Palace can be accessed through the Pratu Phayakkha, which is currently a town park, located off Sorasak Road. The Palace opens Wednesdays through Sundays from 7.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.
Within the Palace lies a number of compounds containing pavilions, some built during the reign of King Narai and others constructed during the reign of King Rama IV.
Phra Narai Ratchaniwet
Address: 182 Sorasak Rd., Tha Hin, Mueang Lop Buri District, Lopburi 15000 Thailand
Phone: +66 (0) 36 411 458