Wang Luang is the centre of power, and as such is called the royal palace. The kings sometimes resided there, as well as the family of the dynasty. Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya was the capital of the kingdom for 417 years. The Boran Palace is located opposite the Wat Kasatra on the east bank of the ancient Lopburi River, whose bed in the 19th century became the Chao Phraya River.
Three palaces were built in the city, the other two are designated as the Chankasem Palace or Front Palace and the Wang Lang or Back Palace. The Grand Palace is now called the Old Palace. Alleys have been laid out around the remains of this palace which extends to the north of the island. The oldest part dates back to King Trailok (1448-1488). Over the centuries other parts were added. Currently, only the bases of the chedis remain.
The main buildings still standing are:
– Suriyat Amarin Hall, from where the procession of royal boats on the Lopburi River was watched, is located near the city walls. It is very recognizable thanks to its quadruple gable bricks.
– Viharn Somdet. The place was used for royal ceremonies, especially for coronation. Its roof was covered with gold leaf. It is surrounded by a cloister.
– Sanpet Prasat. These were the reception halls for distinguished visitors and especially for foreign ambassadors. It is built on the same model as the Viharn Somdet.
– Banyong Rattanat. This building is located on an island in the middle of a basin and served as a place for rest and meditation.
– Trimuk. This building, which also has a majestic garden, is located behind the Sanphet Prasat. It seems to have served as a residence for the king’s wives.
– Chakkrawat Phaichayon. Located inside the city walls, facing Wat Luang, it was used to observe military maneuvers and religious processions.
– Phlapphla Chaturamuk, originally a wooden building, now houses the Chankasem National Museum, although it is rather poor in antiquities. Open Wednesday to Sunday from 9am to 4pm.
– Wang Lang (Rear Palace), near the West wall, where the distillery is located. Originally, it was a garden reserved for the king’s walks. Later, apartments were installed there for members of the royal family. Here you can see the chedi of Queen Sri Suriyothai who died with his arms in his hand.
Boran Palace (Wang Luang)
Location: Khlong Tho Rd, Tha Wasukri, Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya District, Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya 13000 Thailand